Thursday, June 24, 2010
Week 6 response to Sara M.'s post
This really doesn’t surprise me but I definitely agree with your thumbs down! When I was in high school I barely wore makeup, but there were so many popular, pretty girls coming to class with FULL makeup and I mean foundation, concealer, fake lashes, full eye makeup, the works! I think it’s hilarious that so many men claim they prefer more natural-looking women. Let them say that when we go out on dates with them with 100% clean faces, dark under eye circles or blemishes blatant for them to see. I think we women learn from a young age to play up our assets, make up our faces and hair to achieve our own personal ideal of beauty, which usually coincides with a general one of societal influence. Your cousin’s interest in the newest and best products reminds me of how consumed we are in getting the upperhand, as though we’re in a battle to look our best and appeal to the public physically. Think on how sales in “mineral makeup” skyrocketed! Once celebrity makeup artists were touting that this was the next big miracle in makeup, American women ran out to buy it and hopefully find an even better way to hide “imperfections,” beautify and glamorize our appearances, like the stars. Maybe we the consumers feel we must compete with the celebrities’ unrealistic, idealized standards of beauty so we have to “pay to look good.” I think the real price is what this does to a generation of young girls’ self-image and self-esteem. Maybe if we valued “natural” beauty more during childhood and adolescents it would create more secure women who don’t so much buy into the next makeup or style trend, but adhere to their own individualistic ideals. I can dream, can’t I?
Tuesday, June 22, 2010
Week 6 Response to Class Blog
I feel frustrated with the amount of air time reality shows devote to women in vain pursuits of beauty, fashion, shopping, glamour, and basically an ideal of physical “perfection” and social status. I talk about this in my final paper and think it is only getting worse as the years and seasons of TV programming go by. Often when a woman is depicted as strong or smart she is demonized as the villain or the “bitch.” Most women are still portrayed as fitting a stereotype of either the nurturing mother or the sex object. I find most of the shows that do depict women as self-sufficient and smart are not reality TV, but shows like Law and Order SVU, Bones, 30 Rock, Parks and Recreation, Hawthorn, Saving Grace, Medium, and The Closer. I can not bear to watch the Real Housewives series or these ridiculous shows that set back women and equality one hundred years. I don’t think they are an accurate representation. While we may still have a patriarchal society, these depictions of women are extreme and I think provide escapism for those in the “real” world which can explain their high ratings. I definitely think they hinder our progress recognizing women as capable equals. I wonder too why so many women tune in and claim these silly shows are “guilty pleasures.” Is that because they are aware that they should know better? Or enjoy TV that does not portray women in his manner? And notice how the “male” reality shows provide images of men doing stereotypically masculine things; Man vs. Wild, Man vs. Food, Dirty Jobs, Mythbusters, Ghosthunters, etc. My research showed that audiences are drawn to watching shows with the familiar gender roles so it makes sense that shows try to appeal to this with men doing manly things and women conforming to outdated ideals of feminine. Honestly, I can not think of any reality shows where women are not portrayed in this manner and I find it discouraging.
Monday, June 21, 2010
Week 6 Post Women in television
In doing research on gender roles in television I started to think even more on the shows that I’ve watched and how they have depicted women and femininity. I have to say many of the sitcoms I’ve enjoyed over the years have portrayed women strictly in a relational manner, as a wife, mother, girlfriend or friend. Often their careers are not the main focus to their character. Also, they may be depicted as a vixen or a villain, rather than positively associated with independence, intelligence or strength of character. An extreme example is in soap operas, but even in comedies we see the virgin or the whore syndrome come to play. I noticed another extreme example of gender bias because my roommate watches The Bachelor and The Bachelorette religiously. These shows adhere to every gender bias I can think of! Both shows perpetuate that romantic heterosexual love and marriage is the prize and ultimate goal in life. It seems being career driven for men is a positive attribute on The Bachelorette, whereas for women this may be your downfall. How about those rose ceremonies where the bachelorette is always in a gown, full makeup and hair done? I think those few strong, independent female lead characters I’ve seen have been some of my favorites over the years, like Olivia Benson on Law and Order SVU or the Olivia D’abo (older sister Karen) character on The Wonder years, also the women on ER or The Practice, or even the Golden Girls and the Powerpuff girls! I liked all of these women and found their depictions battled some of the gender stereotypes in television but there's a long way to go.
Wednesday, June 16, 2010
Week 5 Response to Lindsey's Post "caves"
This is such an antiquated notion; I think it’s ridiculous too! As much as I hate to say it, I’m guessing this goes back to the theory of women wanting to nest. I hate the term because it sounds as though we’re reducing our behavior to that of animals. I know the “nesting instinct” is usually associated with pregnancy, but I feel somehow the concept has become entangled and metamorphosis into the idea that women decorate the home. It seems understood that we are to make a comfortable space for the family to live and thrive. Added to this the very 1950’s, June Cleaver-esque image of the ideal wife and mother creating the ideal space for family. Plus the even more antiquated idea that women make things “pretty.” I think the man cave has emerged as the space where men feel they can retain their masculinity. I’m not sure the origin of the “cave” aspect unless it’s reference to cavemen who use to be in control of their living space back in times of the Neanderthals! Nor do I understand why the entire home can’t be a true collaboration between partners. I guess we all need our own personal space, but the degree to which many men need to designate theirs and define it as “masculine” through their overly masculine design and decoration seems silly. Check out this website: http://www.mancavesite.org/ with everything for your man cave! Notice “Chugg” the logo of a caveman! Have we not progressed in thousands of years? Sheesh.
Tuesday, June 15, 2010
Week 5 response to Tamica's post
It’s tough when you realize the education a younger generation of women may be receiving from their own mothers. This is so sad! We recognize discrimination in the media, throughout popular culture, and can try to raise awareness against it. However, what is going on within homes between parents and daughters is so influential to the children’s sense of self. I would have been just as shocked and angry at this, yet I feel there is no real solution. Some parents are going to continue to pass these types of expectations or bias views of femininity onto their children, no matter how much education and positive reinforcement there may be in the world to combat it. However, there’s always hope. My parents enforced a very strict gender ideology of what is expected of their two daughters in being feminine and attractive. Yet I don’t feel I try to uphold their standards and will not continue the cycle on to my future children. Furthermore, I am shocked there is not more public condemnation of this "Busty Barbie!"
Week 5 Post: Bare chests at Bonnaroo
This past weekend I attended Bonnaroo, the 4 day outdoor music festival in Tennessee. Needless to say it was incredibly hot and thousands of us were baking in the sun all day long. Men and boys of all ages were topless, which reminded me of our Brandi Chastain blackboard discussion. What I found most interesting was the few instances I noticed where women went topless. In this very liberal environment it was not as shocking as one might think, but I still wouldn’t say it was accepted either. Of course it would’ve been impossible to enforce any kind of policy on dress. Also, the booze were flowing quite freely and I would imagine other illegal substances would not have been hard to obtain. Hence a lax attitude toward a few topless women was a drop in the bucket of some rowdy and tawdry behavior throughout the weekend’s events. I caught an eye full of a topless male/female couple dancing and seemingly in their own world. During my boyfriend’s band’s performance a topless and chest tattooed woman was elevated in the crowd on someone’s shoulders visible to the thousands of spectators. The lead singer proclaimed she was the first topless woman fan in their crowd in all of their 6 years as a touring band. The other band girlfriends and wives thought it was more shocking to see an obese man topless in the crowd than the woman. They made jokes about the man’s flabby chest as though he should have stayed covered because his body was not the ideal image of masculinity or what society deems attractive. There were a few “man boobs” jokes exchanged. They didn’t seem to pass as much judgment on the topless woman. I personally did not care or take offense to any of the chests I saw, male or female. It was ungodly hot and humid, and I’m pretty open minded when it comes to nudity in this type of circumstance. However, I thought it was interesting to hear other people’s opinions and how critical the girls were of the male bodies they saw. Although they did not verbalize any criticism of the topless women, I’m sure if I went topless I would’ve met a barrage of criticism from them as well. While they tend to look the other way at strangers, if one their own friends like me went bare-chested I know there would have been some very negative reactions. Not that I would have done it. Just food for thought.
Thursday, June 10, 2010
Week 4 Response to Yesenia's Post
Ok, this really bothers me too!! I’m not at all surprised about how profitable this Lingerie Football League has become. It seems like a joke to have scantily clad “hot” women playing football and then for a coach to claim they’re real athletes. Who is he kidding? This is not about athleticism. Are any of these women weighing 250 lbs from enormous muscles? I doubt it. I’m sure they all have very nicely toned yet slender bodies to play the sport and still attract tons of male spectators. I don’t think women built like Michael Strahan will attract the same patronage to this pseudo-sport. Like you said, even the names are sexual showing “Hey look, we got some hot women not wearing much more than shoulder pads and helmets trying to play football!” It sounds demeaning and pretty ridiculous.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)